Mandated Training for Licensed Family Child Care

Current license holders must have a total of 16 hours of training annually. The 16 hours of training must include but is not limited to the following requirements.​

Training Requirements for Licensed Family Child Care Providers 

Summary released March 2018 by DHS

SUID/AHT
SUID is required if caring for a child under 1
AHT is required if caring for infants, children under 5 and school age children
Every Other Year a provider must do a face to face or on-line training.
Child Growth and Development and Behavior Guidance

Link to DHS Requirements

Links to Videos to Watch are located below

Link to SUID/AHT Training Verification Form below

SUID Video

The Department of Human Services has approved the following series of videos to meet the SUID component when individuals are not receiving face-to-face or online SUID training. All videos must be viewed to meet the SUID training requirement. Videos can only be watched every other year.

Please Note:  The videos below include portrayals of infant sleep environments in private, non-licensed, homes that are not subject to the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.1435.  Licensed child care providers must comply with statutory safe sleep requirements when sleeping infants including nothing in the crib except for an infant’s pacifier. In addition, attachments or modifications to the crib are prohibited.

1. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JNWBSZZm3no&list=UUJDcgrMl0B2Og4ZdeOOrnFA&feature=c4-overview Produced by Hennepin County Produced by Hennepin County (4:17)

2. http://vimeo.com/51317716 Produced by Eastern Virginia Medical School (5:50)

3. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X0YshwsmZUc Produced by Dakota County (6:28)

AHT Video

The Department of Human Services has approved the following series of videos to meet the AHT component when license holders are not receiving face-to-face, classroom, or online AHT training. All videos must be viewed to meet the AHT training requirement.

1.    https://ctf4kids.org/never-shake-safe-sleep-for-your-baby-dvd/        Never Shake (7:48)

2. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=THhFoYk7U40 The Doctors (1:48)

3. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_t9vH6tqwxg&feature=player_embedded Forever Shaken (33:17)

Training Verification

While no specific method of verification is required, you may print and sign this page for documentation that you have watched each of the videos to fulfill your training requirement.

Required Annually

Child Growth and Development and Behavior Guidance Training

Courses in KCF II C  Promoting Social and Emotional Development and KCF I   Child Development and Learning, meet the requirement for behavior guidance AND child growth and development. No required hours are set in statute but classes in the Achieve MNCPD/DEVELOP system are 2 hours.

·Training requirements state you must complete Child Development and Behavior Guidance (KCF:II  C or KCF: I) annually. Annually means during your licensing year dates. (Example: 10-1-2017 to 10-1-2019 license. A provider would need to take the class between 10-1-2017 and 10-1-2018 for one year of the license and again between 10-1-2018 and 10-1-2019 for the second year of the license. 

 State Statute:

Definition of “annual” modified for purposes of 245A.50 Defines “annual” or “annually” for the purposes of family child care training requirements in section 245A.50 to mean the 12-month period beginning on the license effective date or the annual anniversary of the effective date and ending on the day prior to the annual anniversary of the license effective date. S.F. 2, Article 9, sections 1-2. Modifies §245A.02, subdivision 2b; creates a new subdivision, 2c, in 245A.02. Effective July 1, 2017.

(a) For purposes of family and group family child care, the license holder and each adult caregiver who provides care in the licensed setting for more than 30 days in any 12-month period shall complete and document at least four hours of child growth and development and behavior guidance training prior to initial licensure, and before caring for children. For purposes of this subdivision, "child growth and development training" means training in understanding how children acquire language and develop physically, cognitively, emotionally, and socially. "Behavior guidance training" means training in the understanding of the functions of child behavior and strategies for managing challenging situations. Child growth and development and behavior guidance training must be repeated annually.

Supervising for Safety

Supervising for Safety - two (2) hours annually

Training to meet this requirement will begin with Supervision for Safety. (Example: Supervising for Safety in Family Child Care) and is developed by the Department of Human Services (DHS).  There are a variety of class titles to choose from.

 

State Statute:

Effective July 1, 2014, all family child care license holders and each adult caregiver who provides care in the licensed family child care home for more than 30 days in any 12-month period shall complete and document at least six hours of approved training on supervising for safety prior to initial licensure, and before caring for children. At least two hours of training on supervising for safety must be repeated annually. For purposes of this subdivision, "supervising for safety" includes supervision basics, supervision outdoors, equipment and materials, illness, injuries, and disaster preparedness. 

2 hours annually

Definitions: 

Annual as modified by 2017 legislation. Defines "annual" or "annually" for the purposes of family child care training requirements in section 245A.50 to mean the 12-month period beginning on the license effective date or the annual anniversary of the effective date and ending on the day the license expires.   (This means you can take the training at any time during your license year.  For example, if your license is dated 08/01/2017 to 08/01/2019, you must take the training/or watch the videos every year on or before August 1.  If your license is date for a different month, just substitute your month in where August is listed.)   This change is for the following trainings: SUID, AHT, Active Supervision, Child Growth and Development and Behavior Guidance (KCF IIC).
​Those which must be taken "Every two years" or "Every five years" must be completed by the end of the month in which they expire.  (If your license is dated 8/01/2017 to 8/01/2019 but you took the training in March 2017, you would need to do this training again on or before the end of March 2019.  (2019 for CPR/First Aid or 2022 for CARS).These training follow the month taken, not the month of your license.) This definition is for the following trainings: CPR, First Aid and CARS
 
CPR   
Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation
Every 2 years

CPR must be taken every two years

  • Check for offerings on DEVELOP

  • Check with your local association

  • Must be completed by the end of the month in which they expire.  (If your license is dated 8/01/2017 to 8/01/2019 but you took the training in March 2017, you would need to do this training again on or before the end of March 2019.  (2019 for CPR/First Aid or 2022 for CARS).These training follow the month taken, not the month of your license.)

First Aid
Child Passenger Restraint

First Aid must be taken every two years.

  • Check for offerings on DEVELOP

  • Check with your local association

  • Must be completed by the end of the month in which they expire.  (If your license is dated 8/01/2017 to 8/01/2019 but you took the training in March 2017, you would need to do this training again on or before the end of March 2019.  (2019 for CPR/First Aid or 2022 for CARS).These training follow the month taken, not the month of your license.)

Every 2 years
Required if you transport children

Child Passenger Restraint must be taken every five years if transporting children.  Required if 

  • AAA of Minnesota offers the course

  • Check with your local association

  • Check the DEVELOP Site for training opportunities.

  • Must be completed by the end of the month in which they expire.  (If your license is dated 8/01/2017 to 8/01/2019 but you took the training in March 2017, you would need to do this training again on or before the end of March 2019.  (2019 for CPR/First Aid or 2022 for CARS).These training follow the month taken, not the month of your license.)

Links to finding training:                Local Family Child Care Associations
DEVELOP - Minnesota Center for Professional Development (Achieve)
Navigating the Licensing Requirements:
A form designed to assist family child care providers to understand and track licensing requirements.
© 2016 Proudly Created with Wix.com

Minnesota Child Care Provider Information Network

MCCPIN

P.O. Box 1136

                                                                                                                   Prior Lake, MN 55372                   651-636-1989